KAMAZ won the Dakar rally for the 16th time in history

For Eduard Nikolaev this is the fourth victory in the overall standings of the rally-RAID

The team “KAMAZ-master” in 16-th time became the champion of the rally-RAID “Dakar” in offset of trucks. Prestigious racing the marathon, which ended in Peru, brought victory to Eduardo Nikolaevfrom. Second place was won by Dmitry Sotnikov.

The “Dakar” this year was held for the 46th time and for the first time in history took place on the territory of one country. Over 10 stages 6 through January 17 pilots and crews in five different categories overcame a total of 5000 km, 3000 km of which occurred on the sandy stages. Nikolaev, previously won overall in 2013, 2017 and 2018, led the General classification from the first day of the rally-RAID and held the lead throughout the entire marathon. The centurions also confidently held the second and main rival racers “KAMAZ” — the Dutchman Gerard De Rooy, who plays for Iveco — only closer to the final stages managed to reach the third position.

Recall that his first win at the “Dakar” “KAMAZ” won in 1996 then became the champion Russian Viktor Moscow. In January 2000, his first triumph celebrated Vladimir Chagin, who will later win the legendary marathon six times! Moreover, since 2000, the pilots of “KAMAZ” in just four conceded the title to rivals — in 2001, the success accompanied the Czech Karel Loprais, in 2007, Dutchman Hans Stacey, in the 2012 and 2016 was the best De Roy. Note that since 2005, the General sponsor of the team “KAMAZ-master” is the Bank VTB.

As for the other tests, the class of SUVs, the title went to the Qatari Nasser al-Attiyah. He was already a three-time winner of the Dakar — informed Nasser conquered the marathon in 2011 and 2015. Interestingly, al-Attiyah also is a bronze medalist of the Olympic games in London in shooting competitions (in the skit). In Peru, the struggle for the victory, he was ahead of the Spaniard Joan Roma and 9-times world rally champion, Frenchman Sebastien Loeb.

In offset of motorcycles the best was the Australian Toby Pricein Quad – Argentinian Nicolas Cavigliassoand ATV Chilean Francisco Lopez Contardo.

source: “Soviet sport”